O. Panneerselvam Age, Caste, Wife, Biography, Family, Facts & More

O. Panneerselvam

Real NameO. Panneerselvam
Party(All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK)) AIADMK flag
Political Journey 1996: Became the chairman of Periyakulam Municipality from 1996 to 2001.
2001: Sworn in as the 13th Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu till 2002.
2006: Was the Leader of the Opposition.
2014: Sworn in as the 17th Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu till mid-2015.
2016: Sworn in as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu after the demise of Jayalalithaa.
6 February 2017: Tended his resignation to the Governor of Tamil Nadu.
14 February 2017: He was expelled from the AIADMK by party General Secretary V.K. Sasikala.
21 August 2017: In a merger of AIADMK, he collaborated with Edappadi K Palanisamy and became the Deputy Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.
Physical Stats & More
Heightin centimeters- 170 cm
in meters- 1.70 m
in Feet Inches- 5’ 7”
Weightin Kilograms- 74 kg
in Pounds- 163 lbs
Eye ColourDark Brown
Hair ColourSalt & Pepper
Personal Life
Date of Birth14 January 1951
Age (as in 2017)66 Years
Birth PlacePeriyakulam, Tamil Nadu, India
Zodiac sign/Sun signCapricorn
HometownPeriyakulam, Tamil Nadu, India
SchoolNot Known
CollegeHaji Karutha Ravuthar Kavuthiya Arts College, Uthamapalayam
Educational QualificationsB.A. in Economics (dropout)
DebutBecame the chairman of Periyakulam Municipality (1996)
FamilyFather- Ottakkara Thevar
Mother- Palaniammal Naachiar
Brother- O Raja
Sister- Not Known
CasteMaravar ( a sub-caste of Thevars)
ControversiesNot Known
Girls, Affairs and More
Marital StatusMarried
WifeP. Vijayalakshmi
Money Factor
SalaryNot Known
Net Worth8.6 lakh (INR)

O. Panneerselvam
Some Lesser Known Facts About O. Panneerselvam

  • Does O. Panneerselvam smoke?: Not Known
  • Does O. Panneerselvam drink alcohol?: Not Known
  • O. Panneerselvam belongs to the Thevar community, was born to a poor farmer, known for his modesty.
  • He along with his friend Vijayan, started a tea stall called PV Canteen (now named Rosie Canteen), in the 1970s.
  • In the 1980s, he handed over his canteen to his younger brother and entered politics in 1996.
  • Initially, he became the chairperson of the Periyakulam municipality in Theni district.
  • On 29 September 2014, he was sworn in as the 17th Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu when Jayalalitha was convicted in the disproportionate assets case. And on 22 May 2015,  he resigned as Chief Minister and Jayalalithaa was sworn in again.
  • In 2016, after the demise of Jayalalithaa, he was sworn in as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu at around 1.15 am by Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao at the Raj Bhavan, Chennai.
  • On 5 February 2017, he stepped down from the post of Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for the third time, after AIADMK MLAs elected party chief V K Sasikala as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.